This is the "COS Library databases" page of the "Research Project Help" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Research Project Help   Tags: argumentative essay, baca, english 1, research, research help, scholarly sources  

This Libguide was created for Ms. Baca's English 1 students to help them with their argumentative essay
Last Updated: Mar 7, 2014 URL: http://libguides.cos.edu/baca Print Guide RSS Updates

COS Library databases Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

What is a database?

Databases are searchable collections of records from previously published materials, such as magazines, journals, newspapers, government reports, primary documents, news wires and more.

 

Off Campus Access

COS students, faculty and staff may access databases off campus (Visalia, Hanford and Tulare) through this online catalog link.

This handout was given to the students during their library visit: Step by step instruction how to enter databases off campus

Call the Library Reference Desk at 737-6179 during Library hours if you have questions or need help. You may also email your research questions using Ask a Librarian online reference service.

 

Some useful databases for this research project

Opposing Viewpoints Resource Center covers current event topics (the facts, as well as the arguments) and includes topic overviews, statistics, government data and information on legislation.
Off campus access for Opposing Viewpoints Resource Center
      Watch a short Tutorial

 

SIRS (Social Issues Research Series) contains all full-text articles from a variety of newspaper and magazines covering current social issues. 
Off campus access for SIRS

 

CQ Researcher covers in-depth the most current and controversial issues of the day with complete summaries, pros and cons, bibliographies and timelines. 
Off campus access for CQ Researcher

See other COS Library databases

 

Why is a database asking for a login and/or password?

If you are accessing COS library databases while not on the COS campus, you will be asked for a login and/or password because license agreements require the databases to be used only by COS students, faculty and staff.

Remember to enter using this online catalog link.

Guide Creator

Profile Image
Milena Seyed, MLIS Information Competency Librarian
Contact Info
Lodgepole Bldg.
Room 216
Office ph.#737-6177
Send Email
 

Evaluation

Please, fill in this short evaluation at the end of your library instruction.

Thank you for your time and help!

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip