This is the "Home" page of the "Biology 20 Brad Goodbar" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Biology 20 Brad Goodbar  

Library/Database Research Guide for Biology 20
Last Updated: Jan 23, 2012 URL: http://libguides.cos.edu/biology20goodbar Print Guide RSS Updates

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 
 

Introduction to Biology 20 Library Research Guide

This Library Research Guide is designed to help you complete your Biology 20 assignments. There are tabs for each type of resource that you could use to complete your assignments along with a tab for suggested search terms. The above tabs are summarized below:

Reference  Books:

These books are located on the first floor of the COS Library behind the Reference Desk. These books must remain in the Library. These books include subject encyclopedias which concentrate on a particular subject and are excellent starting points for your research. They are written by experts in the field,have bibliographies, and can provide ideas for search terms to use in the databases and/or Web. An example of a subject encyclopedia is: Encyclopedia of Rainforests.
Online Reference books are also available from the Reference Books tab.

Circulating Books:

These books are located on the second floor of the COS Library (except for the new book display on the first floor).
There is also an extensive collection of ebooks availabe from searching the COS Library catalog.

Suggested Subjects/Keywords:

This chart gives you some useful terms to use in the catalog or databases or web.

Databases for Scholarly Sources:

These databases will provide many peer-reviewed articles written by professionals in the paricular discipline and will often provide results of original research on the topic.

Databases for Contemporary Issues:

These databases provide many full-text articles from journals and research reports as well as less scholarly resources on a very wide variety of topics.

Specialized Search Engines:

There are links to Google Scholar and to a scientific search engine and a scholaryl web directory.

Web Sites:

There are links to selected authoratative web sites on your topics and includes sites for images.

 

 

Subject Guide

Gina Haycock
 
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip