This is the "Databases and Books" page of the "Interviewing" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Interviewing   Tags: hsrv 121, interviewing, swisegood  

This guide is created for Mr. Swisegood' s HSRV121 - Interviewing class.
Last Updated: Mar 25, 2015 URL: http://libguides.cos.edu/swisegood_hsrv121 Print Guide RSS Updates

Databases and Books Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

COS Library Books

Encyclopedia of Social Work National Association of Social Workers. New York, Oxford Univ. Press, 2011.
   About 400 lengthy signed articles with bibliographies on topics felt to be of particular relevance of social work, as well as 200 brief biographies of    key figures in the history of social work. Many articles include a historical overview.

Social Workers' Desk Reference. Edited by Albert R. Roberts, Gilbert J. Greene ; foreword by Barbara W. White. Oxford ; New York : Oxford University Press, 2002.

The Blackwell Encyclopaedia of Social Work. Edited by Martin Davies ; assistant editor Rose Barton. Oxford ; Malden, Mass. : Blackwell, 2000.

Kadushin, Alfred. The social work interview: a guide for human service professionals
New York: Columbia University Press, 1997.

Fontes, Lisa Aronson. Child abuse and culture: working with diverse families. New York: Guilford Press, 2005.
   This book is about interviewing in child abuse.

 

Useful databases

Opposing Viewpoints Resource Center covers current event topics (the facts, as well as the arguments) and includes topic overviews, statistics, government data and information on legislation.

SIRS - Social Issues Researcher contains all full-text articles from a variety of newspaper and magazines covering current social issues. It also provides research tools like Topic Overview, Timeline, Global Impact, Statistics, My Analysis and Note Organizer.

Academic OneFile provides coverage of articles from more than 8,000 scholarly, trade, and general-interest periodicals including 3,000 full-text titles. Contains leads to abstracts, and in many instances, full-text scholarly, trade and general-interest journals, newspapers, newswire services and magazines. It includes full text coverage of the New York Times back to 1995 and replaces the more limited access of the InfoTrac OneFile and the Expanded Academic ASAP database.

Academic Search Premier is a scholarly resource that contains indexing and abstracts for more than 8,500 journals, with full text for more than 4,600 of those titles.

While searching the last two databases use limiters for:


To log into the COS Library academic databases off campus, use Banner ID number without @ and your date of birth. 
Example for March 8th, 1996 would be: 3/8/1996

Call the Library Reference Desk at 737-6179 during Library hours if you have questions or need help.

You may also email your research questions using Ask a Librarian online reference service. 

 
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip