This is the "Home" page of the "Controversial Topics" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Controversial Topics  

Locating information that shows both sides of an argument.
Last Updated: Jun 26, 2012 URL: http://libguides.cos.edu/vasquez Print Guide RSS UpdatesShareThis

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

COS Library Databases

What is a database?
Databases are searchable collections of records from previously published materials, such as magazines, journals, newspapers, government reports, primary documents, news wires and more.

Why is the database asking for a login and/or password?
If you are accessing COS library databases while not on the COS campus, you will be asked for a login and/or password because license agreements require the databases to be used only by COS students, faculty and staff. A list of the logins and/or passwords was given to students during the library orientation and is available at the COS Library's Reference Desk.

 

Useful Databases

Overview:  All of the databases mentioned below have the following in common: the ability to download, email, bookmark or otherwise save articles. All the databases will provide help with how to cite the information in your paper but remember that your instructor has the last word on the correctness of the citation. Below is a selection of the databases that might be of particular use for this assignment. To reach all of the databases click here.

Opposing Viewpoints 

This database specializes in controversial topics. It brings together differing viewpoints through newspaper, journal and magazine articles as well as audio, images, statistics, websites and articles from books.  Click here for a Tutorial on using the database.

SIRS

This database also specializes in controversial topics and brings in all sides of an issue. In general the articles are not as indepth as the ones is Opposing Viewpoints. Most of the articles come from newspapers. It also provides web sites and graphics and background information on the topic.

CQ Researcher

Another database specializing in controversial topcs. CQ Researcher picks a controversial or an issue in the news and creates a report every week. It is a comprehensive report on the history and background of a topic. The report makes an effort to divide the facts from the varying opinions without taking a side. It often provides statistics and always has editorials from two people with opposite viewpoints. 

Academic OneFile              Academic Search Premire           ProQuest

All three of the databases listed above provide articles from from journals, magazines, and newspapers as well as some audio sources such as NPR. Academic OneFile provides the option of searching by subject, while all three provide the option of key word searching.

NewsBank

NewsBank specializes in newspapers. The most local newspaper available is the Fresno Bee. Also available are newspapers from accross California, the nation, and the world. To local articles that have a definite opinion try using editorial or editorals along with the other key words. This database also provides transcripts from radio and TV shows.

 

Print Books at the COS Library

The COS Online Book Catalog

The COS Online Book Catalog provides access to all the books, both online and in print. If the book is online it will say ebook, if it is in print it will give you a call number and tell you if it is on the shelf or currently checked out.    if you are unfamilar with the system, be sure to ask for help in locating the book on the shelf.

A call number is given in the example below. It is the number in blue print.

 



Addiction : opposing viewpoints

San Diego, Calif. : Greenhaven Press, c2005.
c2005
PRINTED MATL
LocationCall No.Status
Main Book Stacks / Non-Fiction / 2nd floor 362.29 A224 2005 CHECK SHELF

Below is an example of a book that is online. In this case you would click on the link called website.



Global terrorism and new media the post-Al Qaeda generation
Seib, Philip M., 1949-
New York : Routledge, 2011.
2011
EBOOKS

Librarian

Profile Image
Kathie Lee Lewis
Contact Info
Building: Lodgepole
Office Room # 213
Phone # 730-3826
Send Email
 

Full-text, on-line books

Credo Reference

 Credo Reference is a database with hundreds of reference books on a wide range of topics. Reference books include subject encyclopedias and dictionaries. Encyclopedias and dictionaries are great for providing factual information that as much as possible leaves out opinions. They are also a great source for getting background information on your topic.

Gale Virtual Reference Library

  Gale Virtual Reference Library is also a database of reference books. Generally these reference books are subject encyclopedias with articles that go into more depth than Credo Reference. As mentioned above they are great resources for factual background information.

EBSCO eBooks

EBSCO eBooks is a collection of full-text online books, much like you would find on the library or bookstore shelves. Books are often a mixture of fact and opinion. If you create an account at this site you may keep track of the books you have used, bookmark pages, and highlight sections and make notes.

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip