This is the "Home" page of the "Asian/Pacific Islander Heritage" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Asian/Pacific Islander Heritage  

Subject guide for topics related to Asian/Pacific Islander history, culture and people.
Last Updated: Oct 31, 2014 URL: http://libguides.cos.edu/api Print Guide RSS Updates

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

COS Library Books

Asian American Encyclopedia

Asian Americans
View printed and eBooks about Asian Americans. For more specific titles, choose one of the subjech headings from the catalog list.

 

Statistics

Asian/Pacific American Heritage Month: May 2014 - Statistics about Asian and Pacific Islander population in the United States from the U.S. Census Bureau

We the People: Asians in the United States - "This report provides a portrait of the Asian population in the United States and discusses the eleven largest detailed Asian groups at the national level, for example: Asian Indian, Cambodian, and Japanese. It is part of the Census 2000 Special Reports series that presents several demographic, social, and economic characteristics collected from Census 2000." Opens directly into a PDF document. From the U.S. Census Bureau.

We the People: Pacific Islanders in the United States - "This report provides a portrait of the Native Hawaiian and Other Pacific Islander population in the United States and discusses the largest detailed Pacific Islander groups at the national level: Native Hawaiian, Samoan, Guamanian or Chamorro, Fijian, Tongan, and Marshallese." Opens directly into a PDF document. From the U.S. Census Bureau.

 

Useful Websites

Asian-Pacific American Heritage Month Home - The Library of Congress, National Archives and Records Administration, National Endowment for the Humanities, National Gallery of Art, National Park Service, Smithsonian Institution and United States Holocaust Memorial Museum join in paying tribute to the generations of Asian and Pacific Islanders who have enriched America’s history and are instrumental in its future success.

Asian-Nation: Asian American History, Demographics and Issues - an authoritative, one-stop information resource and sociological exploration of the historical, demographic, political, and cultural issues that make up today's diverse Asian American community.

Ancestors in the Americas - This website is based on the PBS Television Series, Ancestors in America.  It offers an in-depth historical understanding of one of the fastest growing -- and least known groups of  immigrants in the U.S.-- Asian Americans. They take as a point of departure, that the diversity of Asian groups in America - Chinese, Filipinos, Koreans, Japanese, Asian Indians, and Southeast Asians - all have fundamental historical experiences in common, both in Asia and in America.

San Joaquin Valley Japanese Americans in WWII- digitized collection of primary sources from Fresno State University Henry Madden Library.

 

Health

MEDLINEplus: Asian American Health - A good place to start your research on any aspect of Asian American health or disease.

Asian American Health - An information portal to issues affecting health and well-being of Asian Americans in the United States. Covers major Asian populations, medical journals, communicating with Asian children about health issues, statistics, complementary and alternative medicine, and other health topics. Includes many related links. From the National Library of Medicine.

SPIRAL: Selected Patient Information Resources in Asian Languages  - SPIRAL provides consumer health information in Chinese, Hmong, Khmer, Korean, Laotian, Thai, and Vietnamese. Pamphlets are also available in English so that health care providers will understand the contents. Browsable by language or subject. The site also includes links to Asian and Pacific Islander health resources. From South Cove Community Health Center (Boston) and Tufts University Health Science Library, with support from the National Network of Libraries of Medicine.

Guide Creator

Profile Image
Milena Seyed, MLIS Information Competency Librarian
Contact Info
Lodgepole Bldg.
Room 216
Office ph.#737-6177
Send Email
 
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip