This is the "Home" page of the "Endangered Species" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Endangered Species  

Last Updated: Apr 8, 2014 URL: http://libguides.cos.edu/endangeredspecies Print Guide RSS Updates
Home Print Page
  Search: 
 

Books

COS Book Catalog

This book catalog list both books that are ont he shelf and online ebooks.

Perform a subject search using any of following terms: endangered species, extinct animals, extinction (Biology), wildlife conservation, wildlife rescue, nature conservation

eBSCO ebooks

The books in this database are all online.

Perform a subject search using any of the following terms: endangered species, extinct animals, habitat conservation, wildlife conservation

(For off campus log in into eBSCO ebooks, please use this link)

San Joaquin Library System

Public Library books.

Perform a subject search using any of the following terms: endangered animals, endangered species, rare animals, wildlife conservation

      
     

    Locating and Accessing the Academic Databases

    Accessing the databases on campus:

    To locate our COS Academic Databases from our main homepage, hover over the 'Library' tab and select the 'Academic Databases' option.  A new window will appear with a list of databases we subscribe to.  If you are on campus, you may click on any of the database icon or click on a link of a database on the left hand-side of the screen  to began your search.

    Accessing the databases off campus:

    However, if you are accessing the academic databases off campus, you have to click on the 'online catalog' option in the blue rectangular box above the database icons to sign in with your personal information.   

    Click on the following link to provide you with a step by step  instructions on how to access the databases from home.  The license agreements require the databases to be used only by COS students, faculty and staff.  

    You may call the COS Library Reference Desk at 737-6179 during our Library hours for questions or help.  In addition, you may also email your research questions to Ask a Librarian (askalibrarian@cos.edu). 

    Academic Databases

    The College of the Sequoias databases contain collections of materials/information from magazines/journals, books, newspapers, and other news sources. The material includes articles, charts, graphs, statistics, videos and images.

    You may use any of the subject search terms from the Books tab to search with or without your animal within each of the databases below: 

    endangered species, extinct animals, extinction (Biology), wildlife conservation, wildlife rescue, nature conservation, habitat conservation, rare animals

    • Gale Virtual Reference Library
      This database contains the full-text of reference books. One suggested search strategy: "endangered species" and the name of your animal. Be sure to check the following two titles: Beachman's Guide to the Endangered Species of North America & Grzimeks
    • Credo Reference Books
      Full text reference books. Search strategy: Type in the name of your animal.
    • News Bank
      Newspaper articles from around the world. From the home page, click on the link entitled Access World News.
    • Opposing Viewpoints
      This database brings together a variety of viewpoints. Most of the articles will deal with the broader issues of endangered species but there is also some specific species covered.
    • ProQuest
      Newspapers and Journal articles. Type in the name of the speicies you are searching for.

    Web Sites

    Description

    Loading  Loading...

    Tip