This is the "Home" page of the "Hispanic Heritage Month" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

National Hispanic Heritage Month, September 15 - October 15, 2013.
Last Updated: Sep 3, 2014 URL: http://libguides.cos.edu/hispanic Print Guide RSS Updates

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

COS Library Books

The Latino Encyclopedia 

View print and eBooks about Hispanic Americans. For more specific titles, choose one of the subject headings from the catalog list.

Hispanic Americans

Mexican Americans

 

Statistics Websites

Hispanic Heritage Month 2013: Sept. 15 - Oct. 15 - This edition of Facts for Features contains recently (July 30 2013) updated short, simple population figures and other demographics for the Hispanic population in the United States - From the U.S. Census Bureau

Facts on the Hispanic or Latino Population - More indepth facts, figures and projections on the Hispanic or Latino Population from the U.S. Census Bureau.

We the People: Hispanics in the United States -  "This report provides a portrait of the Hispanic-origin population in the United States and discusses some of the Hispanic or Latino groups within this population at the national level. It is part of the Census 2000 Special Reports series that presents several demographic, social, and economic characteristics collected from Census 2000.." Opens directly into a PDF document. From the U.S. Census Bureau.

 

 

Useful Websites

National Hispanic Heritage Month Home - The Library of Congress, National Archives and Records Administration, National Endowment for the Humanities, National Gallery of Art, National Park Service, Smithsonian Institution and United States Holocaust Memorial Museum join in paying tribute to the generations of Hispanic Americans who have positively influenced and enriched our nation and society

Smithsonian Latino Center - By educating the public about Latino contributions to the arts, sciences, and humanities, the Smithsonian Latino Center helps people understand the imprint of Latinos on our nation's history.

 

Health

MEDLINEplus: Hispanic American Health - A good place to start your research on any aspect of Hispanic American health or disease. A service of the U.S. National Library of Medicine and National Institutes of Health.

MEDLINEplus en espanol

National Alliance for Hispanic Health - " National coalition of health, mental health, and human service agencies and organizations and professional individuals serving Hispanics. Primary mission is to improve health and human services to Hispanic communities throughout the United States, including Puerto Rico".

 

Education

Pew Hispanic Center - the Pew Hispanic Center is a nonpartisan research organization that seeks to improve understanding of the U.S. Hispanic population and to chronicle Latinos’ growing impact on the nation.

Latino Directory - is a comprehensive directory of Latino associations, institutions and organizations with an Internet presence, which focus on academic, cultural, and professional activities in the United States. Provided by the Latino Intersections Resource Center, a part of the Latino Journal Intersections website, which is affiliated with the Department of Spanish and Portuguese, and the Latin American, Latino & Caribbean Studies Program at Dartmouth College, Hanover, New Hampshire.

Congressional Hispanic Caucus Institute - In 1987, CHCI created its Education Center to meet the needs of Latino youth, parents and educators looking for resources to assist Latino students through the educational process. They provide the most up-to-date information so students have all the resources they need to finish high school, go to college, and begin successful careers on their way to becoming the next generation of Latino leaders.

From the Desk of

Profile Image
Linda Yamakawa
Contact Info
Lodgepole Room 206
(559) 737-6173
Send Email
 

Statistics from COS databases

Access to resources from the COS online databases may be restricted to COS students and staff.

Who We Are: Hispanics, 2nd ed. 2011 -  provides a comprehensive look at the characteristics of this fast growing and culturally powerful minority. In addition to detailed 2010 census counts of the numbers of Hispanics nationally and by state and metropolitan area, Who We Are: Hispanics includes the latest socioeconomic data on the Hispanic population. Results from the American Time Use Survey can also be found here, profiling Hispanic time use and comparing it with the averages. Attitudinal data from the General Social Survey compare and contrast Hispanic attitudes with those of Asians, blacks, and whites on a whole range of issues.

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip