Online library catalog
Search the COS Library Online Catalog or use these links/subject headings:
Public welfare -- United States
United States -- Social policy
Family policy -- United States
Finding Data
Statistical Abstract of the United States
The basic annual U.S. statistical compilation.
American FactFinder
Select query elements to create maps and view data tables based on the 2010 Census, Census 2000, the 1990 Census, the American Community Survey, and the Economic Census.
Current Population Reports: Special Studies, P-23
From the U.S. Census Bureau. Includes occasional reports on special populations (elderly, foreign-born populations, minorities, women), family life, marriage, fertility, etc.
Current Population Reports: Consumer Income, P-60
From the U.S. Census Bureau. Includes reports on money income, poverty levels, health insurance coverage, and child support.
Current Population Reports: Household Economic Studies, P-70
From the U.S. Census Bureau. Reports on the economic status of households and its relationship to social characteristics and to benefits received. Based on the monthly Survey of Income and Program Participation.
Reference Books
A good place to begin your research:
Encyclopedia of Social Work National Association of Social Workers. New York, Oxford Univ. Press, 2011.
About 400 lengthy signed articles with bibliographies on topics felt to be of particular relevance of social work, as well as 200 brief biographies of key figures in the history of social work. Many articles include a historical overview.
Encyclopedia of Social Welfare History in North America John M. Herrick and Paul H. Stuart (Eds.) Thousand Oaks, CA: Sage Publications, 2005.
180 essays, most signed, on the people, topics, and organizations that were important to the development of social welfare policies, services, and institutions in the U.S., Canada, and Mexico. Most entries have suggestions for further reading and many include references to relevant primary source collections as well as to published primary sources.
Social Policy: Essential Primary Sources K. Lee Lerner, Brenda Wilmoth Lerner, and Adrienne Wilmoth Lerner (Eds.) Detroid, Gale, 2007.
A collection of primary source documents that focus on leading social issues of the 19th, 20th, and 21st centuries. International in scope, each title is devoted to one topic.
Note: If you are outside of COS campus you would need to access Credo Reference through the COS Library online catalog.
Guide Creator |
Links: Profile & Guides |
Credit
Some information from this guide is used with a special permission from Natalie Borisovets, a librarian at the John Cotton Dana Library at Rutgers - The State University of New Jersey.
Here is the link to her original guide: http://libguides.rutgers.edu/swafter1930.


Loading...
