This is the "COS Library databases" page of the "Research Help for the students of Mr. Vasquez" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Research Help for the students of Mr. Vasquez   Tags: mla, research, social issues, spring 2013, vasquez  

Research help for Mr. Vasquez' students in English 251, 1 and 2 classes.
Last Updated: Oct 22, 2014 URL: http://libguides.cos.edu/rvasquez Print Guide RSS Updates

COS Library databases Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

What is a database?

Academic databases are searchable collections of records from previously published materials, such as magazines, journals, newspapers, reference books, government reports, primary documents, news wires and more.

 

Off Campus Access

NOTE: To log into the COS Library academic databases off campus, use Banner ID number without @ and your date of birth.
Example for March 8th, 1996 would be: 3/8/1996

Call the Library Reference Desk at 737-6179 during Library hours if you have questions or need help.
You may also email your research questions using Ask a Librarian online reference service.

 

COS Databases that could be useful

Opposing Viewpoints Resource Center covers current event topics (the facts, as well as the arguments) and includes topic overviews, statistics, government data and information on legislation.
Watch a short Tutorial

 

SIRS (Social Issues Research Series) contains all full-text articles from a variety of newspaper and magazines covering current social issues. 

CQ Researcher covers in-depth the most current and controversial issues of the day with complete summaries, pros and cons, bibliographies and timelines. 

Guide Creator

Profile Image
Milena Seyed, MLIS Information Competency Librarian
Contact Info
Lodgepole 216, Visalia campus
Phone 737-6177
Send Email
 

Evaluation

Please, fill in this short evaluation at the end of your library instruction.

Thank you for your time and help!

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip