This is the "Home" page of the "Sociology - Education and Employment" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Sociology - Education and Employment  

A guide to resources on education and employment in California
Last Updated: Jan 31, 2014 URL: http://libguides.cos.edu/sociology Print Guide RSS Updates

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 

Two Databases with Scholary/Peer Reviewed Articles

Use limiters for full text and scholarly publications for Academic Search Premier:

and for Academic OneFile:

Introduction to Databases

What is a database?
Databases are searchable collections of records from previously published materials, such as magazines, journals, newspapers, government reports, primary documents, news wires and more. 

What is the Internet?
A global network of computers that share information. Websites can come from the government, military, organizations or any individual.

How do I choose which one to use for research?
Both the Internet and databases are useful for research. The sources in the databases have already gone through an evaluation process just by being published. The materials are well indexed, organized and fairly easy to use. Websites need to be carefully evaluated before you use them as they have not gone through any publishing process and it is very easy to put anything on the web.

The Internet is very useful for finding information from governments and organizations. It is also good place for locating the most current news.

What is a scholarly or peer-reviewed article?
Before an article is published in a scholarly or peer-reviewed journal it must first be read by several other experts in the field and they must approve the acceptance of the scholarly value of the article before it is published. Frequently, these articles contain original research.

Newspaper articles

The full-text of newspaper articles. Some going back to 1985.

 

Suggested Key Words for Searching

college,   careers,   statistics,    "job market",   attendance,   "job opportunities",   Hispanic or Latino,   "job training",   enrollment,   income,   African-Americans,   salaries

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip