This is the "Websites, Online Reference Books and COS Library Catalog" page of the "Drug and Alcohol Treatment" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Drug and Alcohol Treatment   Tags: alcohol, apa style, drug and alcohol treatment, drugs, hsrv102, swisegood  

This guide is created for Mr. Swisegood' s HSRV102- Drug and Alcohol Treatment class.
Last Updated: Mar 18, 2015 URL: Print Guide RSS Updates

Websites, Online Reference Books and COS Library Catalog Print Page

Useful Websites

National Institute on Drug Abuse
NIDA is a government agency that supports and conducts research on drug abuse to improve addiction prevention, treatment, and policy efforts.

Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services Administration
SAMHSA was established in 1992 and directed by Congress to target effectively substance abuse and mental health services to the people most in need and to translate research in these areas more effectively and more rapidly into the general health care system.

National Association of Alcohol/Drug Abuse Directors
The National Association of State Alcohol and Drug Abuse Directors assists the federal and state governments in the development of alcohol and drug abuse prevention and treatment programs throughout the United States.


Online Reference Books

Encyclopedia of Global Health is a comprehensive, one stop reference to a broad array of health topics worldwide. The Encyclopedia covers all aspects of health, including physical and mental health entries, biographies of major doctors and researchers, profiles of medical institutions, organizations, and corporations, descriptions of drugs and operations, articles on national health policies, and thematic health topics in the humanities.

Drugs and Controlled Substances: Information for Students, 2003

Drugs, Alcohol, and Tobacco: Learning about Addictive Behavior, 3v, 2003

Encyclopedia of Drugs, Alcohol & Addictive Behavior, 3rd ed., 4v, 2009

Encyclopedia of Public Health, 2008

The Gale Encyclopedia of Alternative Medicine, 3rd ed., 4v, 2009

The Gale Encyclopedia of Medicine, 4th ed., 6v, 2011

The Gale Encyclopedia of Mental Health, 2nd ed., 2v, 2008

Note: To access these online reference books off campus log in using Banner ID number without @ and your date of birth.
Example for March 8th, 1996 would be: 3/8/1996


COS Library Online Catalog

When searching the COS Library online catalog use:

"Drug abuse"

"Drug abuse - Prevention"

"Drug abuse - Treatment"

"Substance abuse"

"Substance abuse -- Physiological aspects"


Loading  Loading...