The U.S. History database contains articles from newspapers, magazines, journals and books, as well as videos, podcasts, images and statistics.
Topics covered include: Veteran's Day, Veteran's Administration, Veterans, War on Iraq, Vietnam War and more.
The Opposing Viewpoints database contains articles from newspapers, magazines, journals and books, as well as videos, podcasts, images, statistics and webpages. The database concentrates on current, controversial topics, including: Afghan War, 9/11 Attacks, Military Deployment, U.S. Armed Forces, WikLeaks, Gays in Military, Post-Traumatic Stress Disorder, Iraq Wars, and many more.
Academic Search Premier and Academic OneFile are databases that index articles from magazines, journals, newspapers, and some podcasts/audio files. They provide information on thousands of topics. Not all the articles are full-text.
Click here to locate the complete list of databases provided by COS
If the databases are accessed off campus the searcher will either need the list of passwords, which are held at the reference desk at COS or they may be accessed via the COS online catalog.
Online Reference Books
Reference books provide factual background information on topics, people and events.
All the articles from these reference books, which include multi-volume encyclopedias, are full text. The databases will also help the researcher create a citation for a bibliography.
Some examples of articles resulting from a key word search of Patriot Act in the Gale Virtual Reference Library included articles from: Encyclopedia of Espionage, Intelligence and Security, West's Encyclopedia of American Law, Major Acts of Congress, and Terrorism: Essential Primary Sources.